There’s only two days in the week that start with an ‘s,’ and there’s only two days in the week that are considered the weekend. Plenty of songs out there have Saturday and Sunday in the title, so on this lazing Sunday, check out what I have to say about 7 of them.

  1. “Saturday Night” by Eagles

If you’re looking for a song that is relaxing, then “Saturday Night” is the answer. Recorded for the studio album “Desperado,” This song was the only Eagles song to have been co-wrote by everyone who was in the band at the time. With this being said, that means Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Bernie Leadon, and Randy Miesner co-wrote “Saturday Night.” Henley and Frey are on acoustic guitar, Miesner on the bass guitar, and Leadon on the mandolin, no drums. Henley is on lead vocals with Miesner beautifully coming in on the bridge to sing “she said tell me, oh tell me.” LeadonFrey, and Miesner provide backing vocals, as the story of losing your chance with someone is told.

Lyrics from “Saturday Night”

Seems like a dream now, it was so long ago
The moon burned so bright and the time went so slow
And I swore that I loved her and gave her a ring
The bluebird was high on the wing

Whatever happened to Saturday night
Finding a sweetheart and holding her tight?
She said, “tell me, oh, tell me, was I all right?”
Whatever happened to Saturday night?

The years brought the railroad it ran by my door
Now there’s birds on the windows and dust on the floor
And she passes the time at another man’s side
And I pass the time with my pride

Eagles live performance of “Saturday Night”

2. “Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting” by Elton John

As we stay with the evening on a Saturday, we go from relaxation, to a night of looking for drinks. Weekends really are unpredictable. “Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting” can be found on Elton John’s studio album “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road.” This is one of many songs Bernie Taupin co-wrote with Elton John. It has also been covered by bands such as QueenThe Who, and The Foo Fighters. As the guitar riff and drums play during the opening few seconds before Elton John comes in, you can tell this lively hard rock song is going to be something good.

Lyrics from “Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting”

Don’t give us none of your aggravation
We had it with your discipline
Saturday night’s alright for fighting
Get a little action in
Get about as oiled as a diesel train
Going to set this dance alight
Because saturday night’s the night i like
Saturday night’s alright alright alright
Well they’re packed pretty tight in here tonight
I’m looking for a dolly who’ll see me right
I may use a little muscle to get what i need
I may sink a little drink and shout out “she’s with me!”

Elton John performing “Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting” live

3. “One More Saturday Night” by Grateful Dead 

Literally, ‘One More Saturday Night‘ and then this list is moving on. As mentioned on whitegum.com, Robert Hunter started out with the lyrics to this song, and once Bob Weir took it and wrote the whole song, Hunter backed out on associating with the song credit. Hunter had plans on calling this song ‘U.S. Blues,‘ but once Weir took control and Hunter backed out, Hunter wrote another song titled “U.S. Blues.” From the 4 verses to the chorus, this is a lyrically clever song. One verse has you on a mountain drinking wine, then you’re dancing in an armory full of dynamite, after that you’re turning on the news as the president speaks about singing the blues. The first time this song could be found on an album was when their “Europe ’72” live album was released on November 5th of 1972.

Lyrics from “One More Saturday Night”

I went down to the mountain, I was drinking some wine
Looked up in the heavens Lord I saw a mighty sign
Writting fire across the heaven, plain as black and whit
Get prepared, there’s going to be a party tonight

Uhuh, Hey! Saturday Night!
Yeh, uhuh one more Saturday night
Hey Saturday night!

Everybody’s dancing down the local armory
With a basement full of dynamite and live artillery
The temperature keeps rising, everybody getting high
Come the rocking stroke of midnite, the whole place going to fly

A Live performance by Grateful Dead of “One More Saturday Night”

4. “Another Park, Another Sunday” by The Doobie Brothers

Just another Sunday in the park, right? This A-side single that got taken off the radio, has a B-side that became a number 1 hit. This B-side? “Black Water.” While “Another Park, Another Sunday” was doing well, it was taken off the radio due to a line in the song. The line is, “and the radio just seems to bring me down.”  A quote by Tom Johnston of The Doobie Brothers can be found on unmasked.us in regards to the song. The quote is, “That was based on breaking up with a girlfriend. And that’s basically what that was all about. Including the park and all the rest of it. You know, that was a single, and actually got put out, and was doing real well, and then it got yanked off the radio for the line, “And the radio just seems to bring me down,” because the song being played reminded me of the girl. But radio took it as, “Oh, yeah? The radio brings you down, huh? Well, guess what?” yank.” This song is from their studio album “What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits.”

Lyrics from “Another Park, Another Sunday”

I’m sittin’ in my room, I’m starin’ out my window
And I wonder where you’ve gone
Thinking back on the happy hours just before the dawn
Outside the wind is blowin’
It seems to call your name again, where have you gone
City streets and lonely highways, I travel down
My car is empty and the radio just seems to bring me down
I’m just tryin’ to find me
A pretty smile that I can get into
It’s true, I’m lost without you
Another lonely park, another Sunday

“Another Park, Another Sunday” by The Doobie Brothers

5. “Saturday In The Park” by Chicago

Rewinding back to Saturday, but staying in the park, “Saturday In The Park,” has a different perspective than “Another Park, Another Sunday.” “Saturday In The Park” is an up lifting song that wants the listener to look on the bright side. When the piano comes in as the song starts, you can tell you’re in for a treat. On rollingstone.com, and In regards to Chicago keyboardist Robert Lamm, Chicago saxophonist Walter Parazaider said, “Robert came back to the hotel from Central Park very excited after seeing the steel drum players, singers, dancers and jugglers. I said, ‘Man, it’s time to put music to this!'” The song can also be found on the soundtrack for the movies ‘Spirit of ’76,‘ and ‘My Girl.’ Plus the studio album “Chicago V.”

Lyrics from “Saturday In The Park”

Another day in the park
I think it was the Fourth of July
Another day in the park
I think it was the Fourth of July
People talking, really smiling
A man playing guitar
Singing for us all

Will you help him change the world
Can you dig it (yes, I can)
And I’ve been waiting such a long time
For today

Chicago performing “Saturday In The Park” Live

6. “Sunday Morning” by Earth Wind & Fire

Now it’s time to wake up on the morning of a Sunday. Earth Wind & Fire’s “Sunday Morning” which is from their 1993 studio album “Millennium,” once earned itself a Grammy nomination in’94 for best R&B vocal performance by a duo or group. If your looking for an up-beat song that you can dance to and have a good time, this song fits that category. There is also a music video for the song that is Earth Wind & Fire jamming out, and doing what they do.

Lyrics from “Sunday Morning”

Ooh, I’m waiting
I’m forever anticipating
Your face on my pillow
You’re the sunshine pourin’ through my window

And like the grapes on the vine
Love is sweeter with time
And you were made to love

Ooh (Sunday morning, I’ll be waiting)
Sunday morning (To your love I’m dedicated)
You’re gonna find my love shinin’ on you
(You’re gonna find my love)

Earth Wind & Fire’s music video for “Sunday Morning”

7. “Lazing On A Sunday Afternoon” by Queen 

To end this list, we have “Lazing On A Sunday Afternoon” by Queen. This song clocks in at 1 minute and 7 seconds, but is worth every second. With a Vaudeville tone to the song, this piece of music is certainly unique. Vaudeville was a theatrical form of entertainment that was around from the 1880’s to the 1930’s, and more can be read about it on virtualvaudeville.com. The intro starts with the piano, then as Freddie Mercury starts to sing, the lyrics start on a Monday, then go to Tuesday, and skips to Sunday. After that, it goes to Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and the song ends with a guitar solo. This song can be found on their studio album “Night At The Opera.”

Lyrics from “Lazing On Sunday Afternoon”

I go out to work on a Monday morning
Tuesday I go off to honeymoon
I’ll be back again before it’s time for Sunny-down
I’ll be lazing on a Sunday afternoon
Bicycling on every Wednesday evening
Thursday I go waltzing to the Zoo
I come from London town, I’m just an ordinary guy
Fridays I go painting in the Louvre
I’m bound to be proposing on a Saturday night (There he goes again)
I’ll be lazing on a Sunday
Lazing on a Sunday
Lazing on a Sunday Afternoon

“Lazing On A Sunday Afternoon” by Queen 

